Trustees are elected by the ASO Membership and serve a three year term. Vacancies are advertised to the Membership when they become available and an on- line ballot is run if nominations exceed the number of vacancies.

If you wish to contact a Trustee, please email the ASO Office at [email protected]

Dr David Hughes

  • Secretary
  • Consultant in Endocrinology & Bariatric Medicine at the East Midlands Institute of Bariatric Medicine (Royal Derby Hospital).

Dr Nerys M Astbury

  • ASO Networks Officer (Midlands, South West, London & South East, East of England & Yorkshire)
  • Senior Research Fellow, Nuffield Department of Primary Card Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Mr Ken Clare

  • Patient Groups Link Officer
  • Registered nurse and Chair of WLSinfo, the UK's largest patient obesity charity.

Dr Nicola Heslehurst

  • ASO Networks Officer (NI, Wales, Scotland, North West England & North East England)
  • Senior Lecturer in Maternal Nutrition and NIHR Advanced Research Fellow at Newcastle University; Co-lead for the Early Life and Adolescence Programme in Fuse (The Centre for Translational Research in Public Health).

Dr Kath Roberts

  • UKCO Coordinator
  • Registered Nutritionist; Programme Manager, Public Health England; Honorary Lecturer in Public Health, University of Sheffield

Dr Abd Tahrani

  • Chair Clinical Practice & Obesity Management Committee
  • NIHR clinician scientist at the University of Birmingham (UOB) & Consultant in Obesity at Birmingham Heartlands Hospital

Dr Emilie Combet

  • Co-opted Networks Officer (Maternity cover: NI, Wales, Scotland, North East England, North West England)
  • Senior Lecturer in Nutrition, University of Glasgow